Skip to content

Back in the Saddle

April 20, 2010

So last Saturday morning, I got my butt out of bed early, and headed out to run my first race of the season.  It was only a 2 mile race, and I was rather nonchalant about the whole thing.  2 miles?  Psh, no problem.  Wrong.  I don’t know what it was about that morning, but I had a sideache set in by about the first half a mile, and I wanted to stop and walk by the last half mile.  Because I didn’t want other people to see me walk, I pushed through the pain and finished in just under 22 minutes.  It’s amazing to think that I’m posting the kind of times right now while I’m out of shape that I was posting last fall when I was in shape.  Regardless, I still need to get into gear and keep working on getting ready for my 5k that is next week on Thursday.  This 2 mile race was a good wake-up call that I need to establish a running routine again, and that I have to be serious about running.

The day after my 2 mile race, I saw Kyle’s sister-in-law out running and decided that it was such a gorgeous day that I should go out running too.  So I did.  I attempted 2.4 miles and ran the entire thing with only the smallest of sideaches.  It only took me about 25 minutes, which is faster than my 2 mile time.  Maybe I need to psych myself out and just go for the longer distances?  Either way, my goal for this week is to run twice: once on Wednesday/Thursday and once over the weekend.

Here’s to setting (and achieving) goals!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 12:33 pm

    That’s a great goal, good luck doing it I know you’re super busy right now.

    And good for you for getting out to a race, I’ve got a 5k on May 2 that I’m getting more and more afraid of.

  2. taraSG permalink
    April 20, 2010 2:19 pm

    Yay for getting out and running!! I need to sign up for a race…

Leave a Reply

