Skip to content

Hi, my name is Ed

March 4, 2010

Yes, I’m a woman who goes by Ed!  It’s my nickname and I love it, which is good since people call me Ed a lot.  This is my “Get to Know You” post.  I thought I’d start off with two confessions:

  1. At first I thought this was a “community members post comments” blog.  It’s actually a “community members post posts” blog, which makes me super happy because it’s so interactive!  I was slightly dense and it took me some time to figure that out.
  2. I’m not really a runner.  I would consider myself more of a light jogger.  I’m doing a sprint distance triathlon in August (and probably several 5Ks during the summer) and running will be part of it.  I would say cross-training is my main “sport” and I’ve found everything I do outside of a certain activity improves my performance of that activity!

Whew, now that I’ve bared my running soul, we can get on with other things…like a fabulous bullet-pointed list about me! 🙂

  • Like Steph, I like lists.  I usually categorize and color-code them. No, seriously, I do.
  • I’m 23 and single, with no pets.
  • I’m a software engineer and I’m very passionate about women in technology
  • I have a lot of things I love: technology, rugby, biking, jogging, swimming, curling, salsa dancing (at least twice a week or I get cranky), reading, traveling,  watching movies, killing zombies.
  • I commute an hour to work (I’m bitter about it), but really I want to be able to bike/walk to work.
  • I like t-shirts with umbrellas on them

That seems like enough sharing for one day, but I’d like to start getting to know everyone on the site a little better, so I’ll leave you with a question: My catch phrase is “E is for awesome,” what’s yours?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 8:48 pm

    I don’t have a catch phrase really, I guess Keep Going, now that it’s tattooed to my wrist lol!

    So glad you did an intro post, I loving being able to get to know everyone in the community. Sounds like you’ve got an awesome schedule of races coming up! !

    • March 5, 2010 11:43 am

      A tattoo would certainly make it a catch phrase! I’m really excited about my triathlon. I’ve always wanted to do one because I can’t think of anything more bad-ass than being able to say, “Yeah, I do triathlons.” Plus, it just screams HEALTHY! 🙂

  2. Aманда permalink
    March 6, 2010 8:24 am

    Welcome to Run With Us, Ed! 🙂

    I don’t have a catch phrase. At least, one that I can think of now.

  3. taraSG permalink
    March 7, 2010 6:45 pm

    Welcome to Run With Us!! You may have noticed that a few of us are also into lists and organization, so you should feel at home 🙂

    I’m not sure that I have a catch phrase… when I’m running I like to tell myself “just until the end of the song” (and repeat). However, this makes me want to come up with a better mantra…

  4. mommyinmotion permalink
    March 8, 2010 6:13 pm

    Welcome Ed! I don’t think I have a catch phrase, either. Like Tara- I do have certain things I mumble over and over to myself when I run, but maybe not a catch phrase. Usually it’s “why am I doing this?” or “ok, fine, one more minute, then I am done. Really, I mean it this time. Last minute” 🙂

Leave a Reply

