Skip to content

Help!

February 24, 2010

Ok, so it’s not that urgent, but I was wondering if y’all had any tips.  I’m doing fine with adding distance to my runs.  I’m up to 5-6 miles a run! Woohoo! However, my speed is TERRIBLE.   I cannot get past about an 11:20 mile.  How did y’all pick up speed while training?

Thanks!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Aманда permalink
    February 24, 2010 11:51 am

    Try some strength training and/or cross training. The stronger your muscles are, the faster you should be.

  2. mommyinmotion permalink
    February 24, 2010 12:32 pm

    Do you run on a treadmill or outside?

    On a treadmill I do speed training by slowly increasing my speed for 1/10 a mile at a time. Doing it this way I’ve been able to increase my “easy” run speed to a 9-10 minute mile.

    Outside: this one is harder! I make sure I am running a set course so I know exactly where I am (distance wise) Usually I use the high school track for this. I add sprints to my running to help increase speed.

    Also- like Amanda said- strength training helps. A lot!!

  3. taraSG permalink
    February 24, 2010 5:07 pm

    I have nothing to add… I was just going to agree with both Amanda and M. I think adding strength and sprints will do wonders. I’m needing to work on this as well!

  4. March 3, 2010 10:32 am

    This is from a marathoner friend of mine, she runs 7:30-8 minute miles 🙂

    There are a couple easy things that you can add to your training to help improve your speed:

    1. Pick one of your routes that you do very regularly and try to do it faster each time you run it. It only needs to be 2-3 miles right now, but it gives you a run that you can use to gauge your progress.

    2. At the end of your run, take a few minutes to catch your breath and then run 4 accels. Work your way up to no more than 10 accels. They should only be 40 – 60 meters, and the point is to accelerate up to your sprint speed. Rest time between each should only be about 30 seconds.

    3. Make one of your runs a fartlek workout. Again, this should just be one of your 2 – 3 mile runs right now. Run the first 6 – 8 minutes at an easy, comfortable pace. Then pick up the pace (shouldn’t be an all-out sprint) every other block (fast one block, recover one block, repeat) for the middle part of the run. Cool down with 6 – 8 minutes of easy running at the end of your route.

    4. One last thing you can try is to just pick up the pace at the end of every run.

    The main thing to remember about working on your speed is that you have to start working towards running outside your comfort zone.

  5. March 3, 2010 10:33 am

    Sorry for a double post 😦 typed the wrong web address…

    This is from a marathoner friend of mine, she runs 7:30-8 minute miles

    There are a couple easy things that you can add to your training to help improve your speed:

    1. Pick one of your routes that you do very regularly and try to do it faster each time you run it. It only needs to be 2-3 miles right now, but it gives you a run that you can use to gauge your progress.

    2. At the end of your run, take a few minutes to catch your breath and then run 4 accels. Work your way up to no more than 10 accels. They should only be 40 – 60 meters, and the point is to accelerate up to your sprint speed. Rest time between each should only be about 30 seconds.

    3. Make one of your runs a fartlek workout. Again, this should just be one of your 2 – 3 mile runs right now. Run the first 6 – 8 minutes at an easy, comfortable pace. Then pick up the pace (shouldn’t be an all-out sprint) every other block (fast one block, recover one block, repeat) for the middle part of the run. Cool down with 6 – 8 minutes of easy running at the end of your route.

    4. One last thing you can try is to just pick up the pace at the end of every run.

    The main thing to remember about working on your speed is that you have to start working towards running outside your comfort zone.

  6. March 14, 2010 1:44 pm

    Thanks for all the help guys! I finished my 2nd 5k yesterday at 31:30. That’s down 3 minutes from my last!

Leave a Reply

