Skip to content

Running Community

February 20, 2010

I am thrilled that we have this online community to support runners, and started to think about “real life” community too. I recently joined a local running club, and we are in negotiations with the owners of my gym to sponsor them. I think it’s wonderful to have that support group, online and in my community.

I also have my family, though! I just posted on my personal blog about my two kids running their first race, and my family back home starting to race as well.I just wanted to ask- what about you?

Do you have fellow runners in your life? If so- do you ever run with them, or are they just people you can talk to about your running? If not- have you ever tried seeking out local runners?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2010 7:45 pm

    I’ve been thinking about this a lot. I love the online community I’ve found here. I have a very supportive family, even those who don’t run are supportive, and my husband runs with me on the weekends. I’ve thought about running clubs but I really do enjoy running alone. And I get the mix of having some social running time with the hubs on weekends but during the week it’s just me and the radio :).

  2. February 20, 2010 10:23 pm

    I love the people I work with. We do our 5ks together. So much motivation and I’ll take motivation from anywhere! But, we’re all at the same fitness level. It’s really great to come here and other online running communities to get tips from runners of all different levels. Congrats on the kiddos! What a great habit to start young.

  3. taraSG permalink
    February 21, 2010 1:51 pm

    I’ve thought about joining the local running club, but have been afraid that I wouldn’t be able to keep up on training runs. They seem to be mostly training for half-marathons or marathons. I really should look into it more.

  4. Aманда permalink
    February 22, 2010 2:23 pm

    My mom is the one who originally got me into running, and we enter 5k races together. And while we do talk about running and training techniques and tips, I prefer running/training alone. Running to me is just such an individual thing. I love the motivation you get from sharing a common passion/hobby, but when I run, I want to run the way I want to.

    • mommyinmotion permalink
      February 23, 2010 10:56 am

      Amanda- I am the same way. I love sharing this with my family, but at the same time I prefer to do my runs alone. My sister and I are entering a 10k together in March, and I am not sure if I am expected to keep up with her (slowing or quickening my pace) or if it is ok to do a race “together” but run on our own!

Leave a Reply

