Skip to content

Hello!

February 15, 2010

Hello fellow runners!

I just thought I would add an intro post since I’m new to runwithus.   I was pretty excited to stumble across this site. So great for tips and motivation!

I’m rather new to running.  I ran a little in high school, but I’ve only recently gotten back into the swing of things. I like to be succinct, and I’m feeling very succinct today, so I’m going to post in bullets.

About me

  1. I’m 24 and happily married with 2 dogs
  2. I work at a tissue bank
  3. I’m terrible at raising fish and generally kill them when I start new tanks
  4. I can be a little random at times 🙂
  5. My name is Steph
  6. I shooouuuuld began grad school this fall barring all unforseen circumstances

Why I run

  1. I’m training for a triathlon and a Muddy Buddy
  2. I love it, it makes me feel challenged, free, and on the verge of death all at the same time.
  3. I likely have a health issue called PCOS. Exercise helps.
  4. I’m starting to find and greatly enjoy the community of fellow runners of all experience levels

Running Stats

  1. I just finished my first 5k!
  2. I have another in March, a Muddy Buddy in May and a Tri in October
  3. I’m really not all that in shape and run about a 10.5/11.5 minute mile.

Thanks for reading. I can’t wait to get to know y’all!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Aманда permalink
    February 16, 2010 8:43 am

    Welcome to Run with Us!

    What are you going to grad school for, if you don’t mind me asking?

  2. February 16, 2010 3:08 pm

    Welcome to Run with Us! I’m glad you introduced yourself, I love your lists, I’m also big on lists :).

  3. mommyinmotion permalink
    February 17, 2010 6:04 am

    Welcome, Steph! Another big list fan here (which is how I found Run With Us in the first place- the 101 list!!)

    And WOW- great job training for a tri!! I couldn’t imagine doing that. I can’t swim and don’t have a bike- so running is all I do! 😀

  4. February 17, 2010 11:48 am

    Hi Aманда! I’m hoping to go to gradschool for Evolutionary Biology/Biomechanics. I’m interested in how tetrapods have evolved to negotiate yielding terrain like sand and hard terrain like rocks and how that’s affected tetrapod locomotot evolution. …it’s a little obscure I know 🙂

    Stacey and Mommyinmotion, so great to “meet” y’all. And training for the tri is pretty much like training for anything else if not a little easier! I’m not doing a full on ironman, just a sprint distance, so it’s just a 5k plus 8 miles of biking and .25 miles swimming. It’s nice to break up the running with biking. I’ll admit I’m a little worried about the swimming.

    • Aманда permalink
      February 17, 2010 12:10 pm

      Hey, obscure is ok. I’m going to grad school for teaching English as a second language, which I thought was pretty self-explanatory, but I still get, “Uh, what is that?” “I teach English to people who don’t speak it?” “Oh” At which point I realize they still don’t really understand what I do. 😉

Leave a Reply

