Skip to content

I Did It!

February 14, 2010
tags: , ,
by

I survived, I spent almost all of it thinking I never wanted to do it again :).  But I was wrong, I’ll be doing it again.  The only sneaky thing they through in was a hill!  But besides this lovely picture of me finishing I’ve got some tips for you.

Things I learned from my first 5K:

  • The only good thing about hills, is the down side.
  • Hills still suck, even with that one good thing.
  • Passing someone is awesome…even if that makes me an ass, it’s awesome!
  • Little kids and old people do are not excluded from the awesomeness of that rule.
  • No matter what you think about during the race (ie I’ll never EVER do this again) crossing the finish line changes it!
  • Being nice to the volunteers makes the whole experience better!
  • Enjoy every moment, even the ones where you think you’re whole body is working against you because it really is over faster then you think!
  • Runners come in all shapes, all sizes, and all ages enjoy it don’t be self conscious!

Those are a few of the tips I thought of while running today, feel free to use them next time you’re running a race.  If nothing else I hope they made you smile!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2010 9:16 pm

    Great post! You have some great tips there. I have mentally quit running at a couple of marathon, only to come to my senses later. Stick with racing, and keep on posting.
    Happy running,
    Rundad

  2. Aманда permalink
    February 14, 2010 9:25 pm

    haha. I “almost die” practically every time I run a race, but I love the adrenaline rush that I can only get when I’m “competing.” There’s something about a race that makes me run better and faster than I do normally.

    Congrats on finishing your first race!!! You did awesome! 🙂

    • February 14, 2010 10:13 pm

      I agree also on days I don’t want to run, an upcoming race seems to get me out the door better then anything else.

  3. taraSG permalink
    February 15, 2010 9:11 pm

    Great post Stacey!! And congrats on your first race! I felt the same way except more of a “why the hell did I want to do this?!” than a “I’m never doing this again!”… but you’re right it all changes at the finish line 🙂

    • February 16, 2010 3:08 pm

      Yes “what the hell was I thinking” crossed my mind a few times :).

      Thanks!

  4. mommyinmotion permalink
    February 17, 2010 6:02 am

    Great job, and I loved your tips! I agree with them. I always felt a little guilty over the fact that I was (in my head) celebrating each time I passed anyone- but I loved it!

  5. March 10, 2010 12:02 am

    I am so proud of you! Congrats!

Trackbacks

  1. Observations from my second 5K

Leave a Reply

