Skip to content

Tomorrow Is The Big Day

February 13, 2010
tags: , ,
by

My very first 5K, and I’m FREAKING out.  I know a lot of you have run several races and this is old hat, but I’m sure you can look back and remember those nerves.  Of course that assumption is based on the hope that I won’t have these every time I run in a race.  The race I’m doing is the Cancer Treatment Centers of America at Western Regional Medical Center Non-Competitive 5K Walk/Run, it’s a part of the IMS Arizona Marathon.  Notice the “non-competitive” that was key for me this first race I didn’t want to worry about my pace or my time, I just want to finish strong, ok so finish at all would be good :).  I’m feeling ready, I know I can finish, I’ve been better about hydrating this week, something I need to work on all the time.  I’m super lucky my mom, husband, and son will be there to cheer me on.  It’s fun to know that they are all so excited and proud of me.  So around 8am MST tomorrow morning send a little happy finish the race alive thought  my way because I’ll be starting!

Also an FYI I’ll be doing another 5K in 2 weeks on March 6, and my third one is set for May 2!  I figure if I signed up I’d be more motivated to keep running!  Do you have any spring time races on the books?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2010 8:55 am

    Good luck Stacey! You will have a blast. I still get a little nervous before races, but that is just me. I no longer get so nervous that I am sick though. 🙂 The more you toe the starting line, the easier it gets, unless of course you are an elite, and then I guess you might get nervous all the time. 🙂 I have found that even at the “more competitive” races, everyone is very supportive. I have stuck around to cheer in folks who finish long after me at some 5K’s. Relax and enjoy and then wear that t-shirt!
    Happy running,
    Rundad

    • February 13, 2010 3:17 pm

      Thanks! I’m looking forward to sticking around and cheering on the half marathon and the marathoners that come in after me as well :). Also I’m hoping there are at least a few 5K runners to cheer on after me. I got my t-shirt today and I look forward to rocking it tomorrow after I finish!

  2. Aманда permalink
    February 13, 2010 11:00 am

    Good luck Stacey! You will be fine. It is a little nerve wracking at your first race, but they are a lot of fun. Just go out there and run your race. Don’t worry about anything else.

    I want to run in a 5k race at the end of April and one on Memorial day. We’ll see whether that happens or not. 😉

    • February 13, 2010 3:18 pm

      Yes do them, you want to get under that 30 min mark remember!? And the shred is probably making you like super-girl strong, you’ll rock them!

      Thanks for the support I’ll tweet if I’m still alive afterwards 🙂

  3. mommyinmotion permalink
    February 13, 2010 5:11 pm

    Good luck! I’m sure you’re going to do awesome. My goal today was the same as yours- just to finish. I wasn’t in the top, but I crossed the finish line and that’s what mattered to me.

    I think signing up for more was a great way to stay motivated! I am already trying to pick one for March, and I will be doing one in April too.

Leave a Reply

