Skip to content

Rush to Brush 5K

February 7, 2010

My first 5k race is just a week away! I am signed up for the Rush to Brush 5K in Jackson, MS on the 13th. I can’t believe that I am finally going to do this! I’ve never run a race before though, so I am looking for tips and ideas! Several questions for those who have run one or more 5K races…

What was your training like in the week before your race?
What type of “diet” do you recommend for the night before? Morning of?
Any tips you wish you had known about before your first race?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Aманда permalink
    February 7, 2010 9:18 am

    My mom’s friend (who is a big runner) says that you should take a light run (about a mile) the day before the race. I did that once… but otherwise I ran earlier in the week and gave myself at least 3 days between it and the race (though I was also running on a 3 day schedule; one day rest, one day biking, one day running).

    Eat good carbs the night before! Think pasta. I don’t eat anything the morning of a race. My stomach is weird and won’t let me run and feel good if I have food in my stomach so more often than not I run on an empty stomach. I was so nervous before my first 5k race I don’t think I could have eaten even if I wanted to. 🙂

    Before you pin your number to your shirt, crumple it up… this will make it less wind resistant and it will move with you better.

    Hope that helps!

  2. taraSG permalink
    February 7, 2010 8:20 pm

    I would recommend a light breakfast (apple/banana). My stomach also gets upset during long runs – anything over 5-6 miles. Whether this is healthy or not (although I did hear about it in a running article) I take a little Imodium pre-race if I think it’s going to be a problem.

    Go to the bathroom whether you need to or not before you head to the race or when you get there.

    Also, I think Stacey is running her first race this weekend too!! I’ll be wearing my “Just One More Mile” tank in honor of your guys 🙂

Leave a Reply

