Skip to content

30 Day Shred – Day 5

February 7, 2010
by

Aманда and I are doing the 30 Day Shred by Jillian Micheal’s. She wrote about starting it and a recent update. I just wanted to share it here and add a little about my experience with it.

Here’s what she wrote:

I’m now on day 5 and going strong.  After the positive response on my original post on the 30 Day Shred, I thought it might be worth my time to post again and let everyone know how I’m doing.  After this, I’ll post about my progress on day 10, day 20 and 30; in effect, after I complete each level.  While I know that many people do the 30 Day Shred to lose weight, I am not.  For toning muscles, however, this rocks.  Only a few days into the Shred, and I am already noticing greater muscle definition through my legs, arms and core.

If you are considering starting the 30 Day Shred, here are my observations/suggestions:

  • Watch the level before you start it.  This will help you a) know what is coming and b) be able to focus on form before you begin
  • Once you know what you’re supposed to do and how you’re supposed to do it, focus on doing it right (correct form) rather than doing as many reps as they do.  I do this by not watching what they’re doing, and instead listen for cues to stop/do something else.
  • If you are not that active, stretch!  Jillian says you shouldn’t do static stretching to begin with, but if you are not active, you will start off tight all over.  I don’t think the “dynamic” stretch in her warm-up does enough to warm up my legs, so I stretch before I begin.
  • Wear shoes if you are exercising on hard floors.
  • If you have weak arms like I do, start with lifting books instead of weights.  This also works well if you do not have hand weights.
  • Stay hydrated.
  • You will get sore.  Push through it.  It DOES get easier.

Here’s the little I have to add:

I am sticking to my running routine while doing this and I can’t say it was easy at first. My thighs KILLED me after the first few days, but, I’m only on day 6 and I’m going deeper into the lunges and not feeling as bad afterwards. I never thought I would be building endurance this quickly. Amanda did such a great job with tips that I don’t have much to add, I will however try to update on here each time we change a level and when we finish.

  • She has wear shoes when on hard floors, but I’d say wear them even if on carpet. My ankles really hurt the one time I did it without them.
  • I’d recommend taking your measurements pre and post the program. You will put on muscle and you might not see a drop on the scale.
  • Get a workout buddy. This is tough to do EVERY day if you don’t have someone holding you accountable.
  • I have adjustable hand weights (like this but mine only go up to 8lbs) and I think they will really come in handy when moving up in levels.

If you want to start a level behind us (but be on the same timeline)

we’ll be moving on to level 2 on Feb 12.

Leave a Reply

