Skip to content

Strength Training & Running

February 3, 2010

I never considered myself a “real” runner. Mostly because, most of the people I have come across who identify themselves as runners just run. And that’s great. It’s just not for me. The cold and rainy weather in MS lately, though, has brought a lot of runners indoors to the gym, so I’ve had a chance to try and observe their strength training routines. Most of them, though, tend to stick to the treadmill if the weather is too nasty to run outside.

I’ve been looking to make some changes to my own routine to improve my running, and found this article online. There’s a lot of great information- and some ideas I’ve decided to incorporate more into my own strength training are:

  • Adding in single leg training (one leg squats, etc..)
  • Training predominately in the standing position
  • Adding in more balance and stability moves

Do you strength train to improve your running? If so, what moves do you like? If not, why not?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 9:40 pm

    Thanks for posting this, great article!

  2. taraSG permalink
    February 3, 2010 9:40 pm

    I used to be under the impression that running WAS my leg strength training… but I later learned that was not correct. Since I’m just getting back into it, I’m doing the 30 Day Shred and that’s it for strength training. However, once I really, really get back into it I’ll probably do light leg strength moves (like squats) on the days I run and stick to upper body and core strength on my off days.

    Great article by the way!! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Aманда permalink
    February 4, 2010 10:15 am

    I never strength trained to improve my running. But I did (and plan on doing again when the weather is nice and the snow is off the ground) bike ride a lot. And that was really beneficial for my running.

  4. mommyinmotion permalink
    February 4, 2010 4:17 pm

    Amanda, I never thought about biking as a supplement to running. That makes a lot of sense though! I might have to give that a try this spring!

Leave a Reply

