Skip to content

Getting My Groove Back

February 3, 2010
by

I’ve been running 3-4 times a week for the past 3 weeks!! This is the longest I’ve kept up with running in over a year. It still isn’t coming easily for me. I think part of the problem is that I’ve been on the treadmill for every run. It’s just too cold and slick outside. I’m hoping to get outside in the next couple weeks.

I’m also getting some shin splints. I’ve always had problems with the front of my lower legs while running. I have extremely weak ankles and it greatly affects how I run. I think I need to start drinking more and stretching more pre-running as well as post-running.

I’m keeping the miles down. I want to take this slow. No injuries to set me back. Not this time!!

Do you notice a difference in how your legs feel when you run on a treadmill vs outside?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 5:05 pm

    I can’t comment because I always run outside but I wanted to say AWESOME job on getting those work outs in! You’re doing great!

  2. mommyinmotion permalink
    February 3, 2010 9:12 pm

    Ditto Stacey, you’re doing awesome!

    I’m an insufferable know it all sometimes (why else would I become a trainer?!) but I have found that a lot of time shin splints can be caused by landing on the heel of your foot while running. I used to have this problem too. Focus on landing on the ball of your foot while you run/jog and then do dorsiflexion exercises when you are not running to strengthen the muscle (ex: rocking back on your heels, bringing your toes off the floor)

    • taraSG permalink
      February 3, 2010 9:15 pm

      Thank you! I definitely feel it when I try to stretch by doing that movement and I thought it was something I should stay away from. I’ll have to work more of those in! I’ll also focus on hitting on the balls of my feet on Friday.

      Thank you so much 🙂

Leave a Reply

