Skip to content

Running While Sick

January 29, 2010

I haven’t been posting here. I have been running, though. At least, I was running- until Tuesday. Monday night I came down with a nasty cold. I have a personal goal to get to 50 miles before the end of this month, so I woke up Tuesday morning and hit the treadmill anyway. Nothing should stand in the way of goals, right?

Wrong! In my personal experience- attempting to run when it is difficult to even breath is not the best idea. I know other runners who swear that the best was to feel better is to lace up their shoes though. I did some internet browsing and found this article on Wellsphere.com

The name of the site itself was enough to get me to take a few days off and rest. Afterall, my overall goal is wellness. 50 miles would be awesome- and I might still get there (7.4 to go!) But what’s the point of reaching my goals if I sacrifice my own health and well-being in the process?

What about you? Do you run when you are sick? Does it help you feel better or, like me, do you just feel worse?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 3:19 pm

    If I’m really really sick then I put all my efforts into feeling better, which usually means remembering to drink lots of water and getting more sleep than usual. If I’m just kind of sick, then I scale back my workouts. Doing a full-effort workout would be way too taxing on my body at that point.

    I’m with you, I think being well is more important than getting in a killer workout.

  2. taraSG permalink
    February 1, 2010 5:45 pm

    I’ve always heard that if it is in your head (like stuff nose) you can run, but if it is in your chest or body (aching fever) then you should rest. I tend to go by how I feel. If I’m really tired or achy then I take some time off. If I’m just stuffy then I attempt to force myself to run.

    Hope you feel better!!

  3. February 1, 2010 9:36 pm

    I’ve only had one serious sickness since I started running and I did go for a nice walk, but no running. I just didn’t feel up to it. I say listen to your body it’s usually right.

Leave a Reply

