Skip to content

Treadmill Mistakes

December 23, 2009

I have been considering a treadmill for this upcoming summer since it’s about 100 degrees by 9am in the summer here in Arizona, and I found this article at Active.com about mistakes runners make on treadmills.  I thought it was really interesting and I saw myself making each one of these mistakes when I’ve run on a treadmill in the past.  It’s making me wonder if that’s part of why I prefer to run outside, so keep these in mind next time you’re on the treadmill.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2009 5:15 pm

    I’m not a big fan of running on treadmills because I want to run at a variable, not fixed, speed. I’m really hard on myself, so I get upset with myself when I have to decrease the speed. Of course, it’s ridiculous since I do the same thing outside. Outside I don’t have a little display telling me I’ve slowed down, so I guess I feel better about that. I hope treadmills can work for you though!

  2. mommyinmotion permalink
    January 26, 2010 7:13 am

    I’ve seen these mistakes many times, and I have made some of them myself in the past. As I’ve gotten more confident with running, and more comfortable with treadmills I’ve become a better indoor runner.

    I bought my first treadmill when we lived in Nevada. Like you, I just didn’t like running outside when it was 100 degrees right after breakfast! Just be sure to do your research and find a good quality one!

Leave a Reply

