Skip to content

Pass/Fail

November 15, 2009

On Monday, I wrote about the goals I wanted to accomplish for the week.  To review:

  • Run at least twice
  • Walk to OR from school two more times this week, weather permitting
  • Take the dog for a walk this weekend (again, weather permitting)

Pass: run once and walked to AND from school Tuesday and Thursday

Fail: run a second time, take the dog for a walk

I think I figured out why I have trouble running – besides the obvious feeling like I don’t have time – it’s the weather.  It’s beginning to get cold and being that I have a very low tolerance for cold weather, I am much more inclined to stay inside rather than run.  That means in order to run I either need to 1) get over myself or 2) work out inside.  I have little motivation for either.  Instead, I am ready to give up running until my semester is over and I am not so stressed.  But I also think this probably the worst thing to do.  I’m at a loss.

Help?  Thoughts?  Encouragement?  Angry words?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2009 10:05 pm

    I have no angry words but I think you’ll regret giving up running till you’re not so stressed, there will always be stress, and I think you’ll agree running often helps stress. So keep at your goal of twice a week just don’t stress yourself out about not meeting it. Sometimes you will sometimes you won’t!

  2. taraSG permalink
    November 15, 2009 10:44 pm

    I agree that I think there will never be a “good” time to pick it back up… and when you’re stressed, you need it the most! I would say try walking on the treadmill (while reading or listening to music) until you feel comfortable enough to run on it.

  3. Aманда permalink
    November 15, 2009 10:56 pm

    I completely agree with both of you that I need to keep going with it. But this is also something I struggle with – knowing vs. doing. I know but I have to find a way to do.

    I think I’m going to start by dragging Kyle to the exercise room/pool area with me to check it out. Maybe if I don’t go alone the first time it will seem easier after that….

Leave a Reply

