Skip to content

“Goals are dreams with deadlines”

October 28, 2009
tags:

It’s time to get serious. I told myself in January that I would stop procrastinating and finally run a 5K in 2009. But month after month I have been coming up with excuses for putting it off. Last July I was running 1.5 miles  in 13:49 minutes while training with The Husband for the police academy. This week? 2 miles in 25 minutes. That extra half-a-mile should not take me 11 minutes to run!

I am stubborn by nature, so I am putting myself on a deadline. Before January 1st I will run 100 miles, and I will run a 5k. No excuses. It’s time.

Running Goals

  • Run 100 miles (6/100) – deadline December 31st, 2009
  • Run a 5k – deadline December 31st, 2009
  • Run a 10k- deadline to be determined when MS Track Club posts their 2010 race dates.
  • Run a half-marathon- deadline January 1st, 2011
3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2009 9:03 am

    Great post! I believe that having specific goals is one way of creating effective goals we can achieve.

    http://growingwithtruth.com/blog/110/strategies-to-create-effective-goals/

  2. taraSG permalink
    October 31, 2009 1:51 pm

    Wow!! How ambitious!! I need to quit making excuses and set some real short-term running goals :0

  3. Stacey permalink
    November 2, 2009 11:58 pm

    WOW! Those are some great goals. Very ambitious.

Leave a Reply

