Skip to content

To Stampede or Not Stampede

September 12, 2009

That is the question on my shirt.  The shirt I got for running my first 5k race.

My goal was to finish in 30 minutes.  Due to drinking too much coffee before the race and the insane humidity, I managed a 32:38 run.  Not bad, but not what I wanted  However, this is one of the races on my short term list.  So I am half finished.

There is another race on October 10th on the same course.   It’s not on my short term goal list, but I am going to do it anyway.  Now I am really shooting for 30 minutes or less.  I can do this.  By October the weather should be cooler and I know not to have two cups of coffee beforehand.

And, in celebration of completing my first 5k race – without stopping to walk like so many others did – and receiving my first paycheck in a while, I’m rewarding myself by buying a new mp3 player.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. taraSG permalink
    September 12, 2009 2:28 pm

    Congrats!! That’s a great race time! What kind of MP3 player are you thinking of getting? I know iPods are pricier than others, but I really love the Nike+ kit (of course I think it comes in a wristband now too…).

    • Aманда permalink
      September 12, 2009 2:43 pm

      Thanks! I really have to work on increasing my speed if I’m going to beat Kyle though – after not running all summer and even walking a bit, he still managed to do an average 11 to 12 minute/mile pace.

      I’m anti-ipod, though having a Nike+ kit would be useful. I’m getting a SanDisk Sansa Fuze. My mom and brother both have one and like it.

Leave a Reply

