Skip to content

Success

September 5, 2009

In my second post, I mentioned that part of the reason I started running was that my mom could run three miles and I could not even run one.   This seemed wrong in some way.  Don’t get me wrong, for my mom, it is absolutely fabulous.  But I am 27 years younger than my mother and I felt the fact she could run and I couldn’t reflected poorly on me.  Without ever purposely setting out to be able to run further than my mom, I began to push myself to run longer distances.

After three months of running, I finally surpassed my mom.  Yesterday I ran 4.65 miles in 55 minutes.  This run is longer and faster than any of hers.  My goal now?  Be able to beat my boyfriend in a 5k run.  I do not feel competitive with my mom.  We are both running to feel better about ourselves.  But my boyfriend is super competitive (a side effect of having two older brothers, I think) and as a former cross-country runner and nearly a foot taller than I am, which gives him the advantage of a longer stride – to beat him would be a lot of fun.  And maybe even inspire him to get back into running again – if only to be able to beat me in a different race.  🙂

The only question is – will I be able to do it?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. taraSG permalink
    September 5, 2009 12:22 pm

    Wow! Great run!!

    Shane is more of a sprinter so I have a hard time getting him to do long distance with me, but he’s a great sideline supporter 🙂

    • Aманда permalink
      September 5, 2009 1:53 pm

      I am more of a sprinter too. And I hated running. So if I can do it anyone can. 😉 I want Kyle to come to my first 5k race, but I don’t think he will because he’s not really a good sideline supporter. Kyle’s mom would be an awesome sideline supporter though – she is my cheerleader mom, after all.

  2. jnylyn78 permalink
    September 7, 2009 1:07 pm

    Way to go!!! I know you can do it!

Leave a Reply

