Skip to content

Running in the Rain

August 28, 2009
tags: ,
by

It had been almost a month since my last run. A MONTH! I’m disappointed with myself, but the only thing to do about it is to not let it happen again.

I have been telling myself (and others) “no excuses” for a while and tonight I decided to live up to it. It was raining. I had a perfectly good excuse not to run, but I did anyway. It was amazing! Ends up I really love running in the rain. I only wish I would have had my hat. It only rained hard for maybe half a mile so it wasn’t bad at all and it wasn’t humid or hard to breathe (well not because of the rain, a little because of me being way out of shape). I did 2.5 miles and it took me 30min. A little slower than I’d like, but miles are miles.

Songs that got me to pick up the pace (neither are super upbeat but the lyrics and feel of the song got me moving):

And my running gear:

  • Nike shoes (w/my time chip from the Chicago HM as a reminder of what I’m capable of)
  • reflective band (made for the arm, but it feels more comfortable on my leg – also has a pocket you can put a key in)
  • Nike+ armband (got 2 for $1 on eBay!)
  • headphones, iPod, Nike+ kit
  • RoadID bracelet
  • and sometimes I wear a heart rate monitor, but I didn’t tonight. (I didn’t take Luna either although she does have a harness and leash now so she can go outside 🙂 .)

gear

One Comment leave one →
  1. Aманда permalink
    August 28, 2009 6:26 pm

    Congrats on finally getting out! If it makes you feel any better, I consistently seem to run a 12:30 mile. I’m a slower runner. 🙂 But miles are miles!

Leave a Reply

